HEALTH ALERT! For the safety of our patients and staff only patients will be allowed into our clinics (special exceptions made) and everyone MUST wear a mask. Click here for additional information regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Lymphoma is a broad term for cancer that begins in the lymphatic system— particularly, the white blood cells called lymphocytes, which work as protection against infections and diseases. Because the disease is so complex, the specialists at Rocky Mountain Cancer Centers recommend learning as much as you can regarding your specific type of lymphoma, which can affect both your treatment and expected outcome (prognosis). 

Many types of lymphoma exist. However, they are broadly categorized into two main types:  Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma. Beyond that, there are many different subtypes, especially subtypes of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. 

Some lymphomas arise from B-lymphocytes, while others arise from T-lymphocytes. Lymphomas are also described by their growth rate, with rapidly growing lymphomas referred to as “aggressive” and slow-growing lymphomas referred to as “indolent.”

Hodgkin Lymphoma 

Hodgkin lymphoma (HL), formerly called Hodgkin disease, almost always develops from B cells and typically affects the lymph tissue found in the lymph nodes, spleen, liver, and bone marrow. This disease is less common than its counterpart, Non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and tends to affect young adults in the prime of their lives. However, thanks to remarkable advances in treatment, Hodgkin lymphoma is now considered one of the most curable cancers. 

Hodgkin lymphoma is divided into two main subtypes, which are: 

  • Classical Hodgkin lymphoma (cHL), which is characterized by the presence of very large cells called Reed-Sternberg (RS) cells 
  • Nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma (NLPHL), which is characterized by the presence of lymphocyte-predominant cells, sometimes termed “popcorn cells” — a variant of Reed-Sternberg cells

About 95% of people with Hodgkin lymphoma have classical Hodgkin lymphoma, whereas Nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma affects about 5% of Hodgkin lymphoma patients.

Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) is the most common type of lymphoma that generally develops in the lymph nodes and lymphatic tissue found in organs such as the stomach, intestines or skin. In some cases, however, NHL involves bone marrow and blood. 

There are several different subtypes of NHL, which are categorized by the characteristics of the lymphoma cells, including their appearance, the presence of proteins on the surface of the cells, their genetic features, and how fast (or slow) they progress. 

Some common subtypes of NHL that are aggressive (fast-growing) include:  

  • Anaplastic large-cell lymphoma
  • Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL)
  • Mantle cell lymphoma (MCL)
  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)-associated lymphoma
  • Burkitt lymphoma
  • Peripheral T-cell lymphoma (PTCL)
  • Central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma
  • Lymphoblastic lymphoma
  • Transformed follicular and transformed mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) lymphomas

Some common subtypes of NHL that are indolent (slow-growing) include: 

  • Cutaneous B-cell lymphoma
  • Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (mycosis fungoides and Sézary syndrome)
  • Lymphomatoid granulomatosis
  • Follicular lymphoma
  • Waldenström macroglobulinemia (lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma) 
  • Hairy cell leukemia
  • Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma/Waldenström macroglobulinemia
  • Marginal zone B-cell lymphoma
  • Gastric mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) lymphoma
  • Chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small-cell lymphocytic lymphoma (CLL/SLL)
  • Primary central nervous system lymphoma

At Rocky Mountain Cancer Centers, our commitment to our patients is to provide the most advanced treatments for all types of cancers of the blood, including lymphomas. Please find the RMCC location that is most convenient for you and call to request an appointment.

Back To Top